Frequently Asked Questions

Other Languages: Dansk Deutsch Ελληνικά Español Suomi Filipino Français Indonesian Italiano Japanese Korean Malay Bokmål Nederlands Polski Português - Brasil Português - Portugal Русский Svenska Thai Türkçe Українська Vietnamese Chinese Taiwan Chinese

Cancel Private Registration

Print this Article
Recently Updated: August 16, 2017 10:15 AM

When you cancel Private Registration, your personal information, including your name, mailing address, email address, and phone number, displays publicly in the Whois database.

Warning: Private Registration cancellations are irreversible. If you cancel the domain itself, Private Registration is automatically removed. Additionally, you can't transfer private registration from one domain to another.
Required: If you've just added Protected Registration and enabled two-step verification on your account, you must wait 72 hours AND cancel Protected Registration before removing Privacy.

Looks like you're not logged in. If you log in above (under Text Icon), we can save you a couple of steps.

  1. Go to the Domains Settings page.
  2. Under Contact Information, click Remove Privacy.
  3. Click Yes, Remove Privacy.

When you cancel Private Registration, your personal information, including your name, mailing address, email address, and phone number, displays publicly in the Whois database.

Warning: Private Registration cancellations are irreversible. If you cancel the domain itself, Private Registration is automatically removed. Additionally, you can't transfer private registration from one domain to another.
  1. Log into your My Products page.
  2. If you aren't automatically directed there, make sure to select the My Products tab.
  3. Next to the domain you want to use, click Manage.
  4. Under Contact Information, click Remove Privacy.
  5. Click Yes, Remove Privacy.

Next step